At random times, no warning when closing a file after it's been deleted
Steps to reproduce: 1 - open an existing file in gedit 2 - (optional) modify and save it 3 - delete the file (for example from Nautilus), either individually or by deleting the folder that contains it (shouldn't be relevant) 4 - go back to gedit and attempt to close the file
Expected: should show a popup that warns you that the file you had opened no longer exists, and give you 3 options: Cancel, Save, and "Close without saving".
Observed: some times it does, sometimes it doesn't and just closes the file without warning (which means, you lose the contents forever!!).
It doesn't seem to matter whether you did step 2 or not. Even if that made a difference, it wouldn't make sense.
As far as I can tell it's completely random. Anyway, if there is any criteria to it, it's wrong anyway: WHENEVER you close file that had been either written to or opened from an existing file, and that file no longer exists, Gedit should show the prompt. ALWAYS. There's no case where it is ok to close the file without any prompt.